Inked..

Shit happens?

“Whosoever is in the heavens and on earth begs of Him (its needs from Him). Every day He has a matter to bring forth (such as giving honour to some, disgrace to some, life to some, death to some, etc.).

Then which of the Blessings of your Lord will you both (jinns and men) deny?”

(Ar-Rahman 29-30)

Yet we deny. Through our acts, through our beliefs, through our thoughts or through every single thing. Allah SWT has endowed so many favors on majority of us that we fail to look down at those who may not be as privileged.

For many days, I felt like I had no purpose in my life. I had depressive thoughts and a point came when I started thinking that except the fact that I find serenity and calm in the word of Allah SWT, there is nothing in this life. Death made sense to me but life didnt. I used to pray and I would get that calmness in me but after a while it would wear off. Today, while at work I encountered something that made me change everything I was previously thinking about my life in general.

A girl came to be seen at our office, she not only suffered from severe ADHD but also with down syndrome and God knows what else.  Minutes had passed by and she flipped out or you can say.. she had an attack.  It got really bad so we had to call 911 for assistance and when they arrived, she was yelling and crying like crazy. She had to get strapped to a stretcher and what not because of the tantrum that she was throwing. I just saw a bit of it and left as the atmosphere was too intense for me to take it all in. That girl out there didnt know what was going wrong, she didnt even know what problems did she suffer from. Heck as far as she could think, what she was doing was normal. Allah SWT then made me realize something that I couldnt understand for the past few days.

While I cursed my life and my problems in general, there was this girl who would do anything to be in my place just to have a normal thought process. To be able to understand things like any normal person would and not go through heavy sedation and tonnes of medicines to function “normally” .  MY problems and my life couldnt be so worse than what that kid was going through, if Allah SWT had wanted , He would have made me in her place and He can anytime since I am so ungrateful most of the time. But He didnt, He gave me everything I want and whatever I need. He gave me things I dont deserve but yet He did for what reason I dont know but I do know that one of its because he is Ar-Rahman, the Most merciful! Yet we also have people who claim “Shit happens” or “Life screws us all” type stuff to say.. think about it the next time you meet a disabled person and compare your problems to him/her.

Allah SWT has made some of us healthy while some of us sick, so that the healthy would take heed from the sick and thank Allah SWT the way He should be thanked and to give to those who are in need. Those who are sick or suffer from illnesses is not because Allah SWT does not love them or He chose to do discrimination .. astaghfirullah. No, as much as my limited thoughts can think its because there are signs for the intellectual and those to reflect and to create the level of humanity. We are made to help each other in any way possible, if everyone was healthy and had a perfect life and there wont be sorrows or difficulties, there wont be any test and there wont be any purpose of living a life in this world.

May Allah SWT make our difficulties easier and make us amongst those who reflect and give thanks. Ameen!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Shit happens?

  1. Tehzeeb on said:

    Totally epic. Best article you have written and very influential! Jazak’Allah yaar i also needed this, may Allah swt guide us all to the right path and give us patience in every moment!

  2. I agree, it’s the best blog you’ve written so far and on a very good topic.
    We always start complaining about things and don’t realise that we’ve been blessed with so much. At times even I start thinking to myself that “I wish my legs were a lot thinner” (stupid I know).. but then I stop and thank Allah that He’s gifted me with two legs that work Allhumdulillah. There are people in the world who can’t walk, they have problems like polio. There are other people who have had their legs amputated. When I was younger, we sometimes used to play blind man’s bluff.. I hated that game. It made me feel claustraphobic. How awful must it be for people who are actually blind and they can’t do anything about it? I honestly dislike this game a lot and I find it to be so offensive!

    May Allah give us the tawfeeq to thank Him as much as we can and should. No matter how much we thank Him, it is not enough.

  3. toothpastesandwiches on said:

    Extremely influential. Almost made me tear.

    Can’t thank Allah enough for all the blessings he gives us…

    For an odd reason, it made me remember about a story I heard from an Imam once, which you might have heard often. Its about three guys who went to hide in a cave to shelter themselves from a storm. Amidst the heavy winds and thunder, a huge stone blocked the opening of the cave, with the three people stuck in it. The men decide to relate to the good they’ve done in this world seeking Allah’s pleasure alone (Ikhlaas) and ask Allah to remove the stone in process. Each of them related an incident, and the stone kept moving away a third on each of the prayers, until there was finally a way to go outside.

    ‘Abdullah b. ‘Umar reported that Allah’s Messenger (S.A.W.S) said: Three persons set out on a journey. They were overtaken by rain and they had to find protection in a mountain cave where at its mouth there fell a rock of that mountain and thus blocked them altogether.

    One of them said to the others: Look to your good deeds that you performed for the sake of Allah and then supplicate Allah, the Exalted, that He might rescue you (from this trouble).

    One of them said: O Allah, I had my parents who were old and my wife and my small children also. I tended the flock and when I came back to them in the evening, I milked them (the sheep, goats, cows, etc.) and first served that milk to my parents. One day I was obliged to go out to a distant place in search of fodder and I could not come back before evening and found them (the parents) asleep. I milked the animals as I used to milk and brought milk to them and stood by their heads avoiding to disturb them from sleep and I did not deem it advisable to serve milk to my children before serving them. My children wept near my feet. I remained there in that very state and my parents too until it was morning. And (0 Allah) if Thou art aware that I did this in order to seek Thine pleasure, grant us riddance from this trouble.

    (The rock slipped a bit) that they could see the sky.

    The second one said: O Allah, I had a female cousin whom I loved more than the men love the women. I wanted to have sexual intercourse with her; she refused but on the condition of getting one hundred dinars. It was with very great difficulty that I could collect one hundred dinars and then paid them to her and when I was going to have a sexual intercourse with her, that she said: Servant of Allah, fear Allah and do not break the seal (of chastity) but by lawful means. I got up. O Allah, if Thou art aware that I did this in order to seek Thine pleasure, rid us from this trouble.

    The situation was somewhat eased for them.

    The third one said: Allah, I employed a workman for a measure of rice. After he had finished his work I gave him his dues (in the form of) a measure of rice, but he did not accept them. I used these rice as seeds, and that gave a bumper crop and I became rich enough to have cows and flocks (in my possession). He came to me and said: Fear Allah, and commit no cruelty upon me in regard to my dues. I said to him: Take away this flock of cows and sheep. He said: Fear Allah and do not make a fun of me. I said: I am not making a fun of you. You take the cows and the flocks. So he took them. O Allah, if Thou art aware that I did it for Thine pleasure, case the situation for us.

    And Allah relieved them from the rest of the trouble. (Sahih Muslim)

    The imam then asked us, what if… just what if… YOU WERE THE FOURTH PERSON IN THE CAVE? What would you say? How would you react? How long would you actually need to think about something? What do you reckon? Would you be…. Stuck in the cave?!

    Apologies as this may have gone quite off-topic, but your post just made me think about the story, and i thought i might as well tell you about it.

    Source of the story: http://islamtruth4all.blogspot.com/2010/09/story-of-3-men-who-were-stuck-in-cave.html

  4. writerphobic on said:

    JazakAllah everyone :$ I really felt like we all needed a reminder just like I did right at that time.

    @toothpastesandwiches- thats really true. No it wasnt off topic at all I believe anything can go with this sort of incident. I dont think when we stand in front of Allah SWT we will be able to give proper reasoning for every act we did, we are so so so not close the piety of the sahaba and taba tabi’een 😦

Tell me whats on your mind HUMAN!

